Housing, associations, and homeowner surveys
Community Association Statistics
Explore the statistics and surveys behind common interest communities in the United States and how they shape the housing landscape.
13 sources
The latest figures
CIC Stats at a Glance
79%
New Single-Family Houses Sold in an HOA (2025)
132,737,146
Occupied Housing Units (2024 ACS)
21,619,648
Owner-Occupied Units Paying a Required HOA and/or Condominium Fee (2024 ACS)
$135
Median Required Monthly HOA and/or Condominium Fee (2024 ACS)
9,477,000
New Single-Family Houses Sold, 2009–2025
7,158,000
New Single-Family Houses Sold in an HOA, 2009–2025
New construction
How Are New Homes Being Built?
Explore annual sales, HOA share, completed single-family houses, and housing starts. Focus or tap any point to see its year and exact value.
Houses Sold
- All Houses678,000
- In an HOA538,000
- Outside an HOA140,000
HOA Share
- In an HOA79%
- Outside an HOA21%
Houses Completed
- All Houses1,005,000
- In an HOA644,000
- Outside an HOA361,000
U.S. Housing Starts
- All New Homes1,356,000
Yearly average of monthly, seasonally adjusted rates. Latest month, August 2026: 1,275,000 a year. Source: FRED, Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis (series HOUST), retrieved 09/25/26.
Census includes detached homes and qualifying attached homes, such as townhouses. Attached homes must have a ground-to-roof separating wall, no home above or below, and separate heating, cooling and utility facilities. Census Single-Family Definition
Required fees
What Do Homeowners Pay?
Explore required homeowners’ association and condominium fees. The median includes owner-occupied homes that pay a required fee.
Owner-Occupied Housing Units by Required HOA or Condominium Fee Status
Owner-occupied housing units
Median Monthly HOA or Condominium Fee by Mortgage Status
Owner-occupied housing units with a required homeowners’ association and/or condominium fee paid
Census housing data
What Types of Homes Do Americans Occupy?
Census estimates group occupied homes by the number of units in each structure.
Occupied Housing Units (by Units and Structure)
Counts and reported shares are shown from the Census dataset.
About the HOA-by-type breakdown. The available Census series reports HOA membership for new single-family houses as a whole, but it does not split that HOA share by structure type. The chart above shows the closest available real type breakdown: occupied housing units by units in structure.
Additional Census Detail: Housing Type by Year Built and Occupants by Age, Sex, and Structure
Housing Units by Structure Type and Year Built
ACS PUMS estimates. Each year-built column is retained from the supplied dataset.
| 2 apartments | 1,521,623 | 325,639 | 444,167 | 454,659 | 583,555 | 462,789 | 321,653 | 314,772 | 259,063 | 10,646 | 3,444 |
| 3–4 apartments | 1,173,209 | 299,484 | 444,634 | 566,294 | 1,036,688 | 942,626 | 602,646 | 591,322 | 386,997 | 16,067 | 3,911 |
| 5–9 apartments | 695,236 | 195,031 | 356,816 | 607,227 | 1,187,861 | 1,203,724 | 779,662 | 760,317 | 522,067 | 21,825 | 5,915 |
| 10–19 apartments | 447,002 | 143,748 | 299,235 | 605,088 | 1,079,161 | 1,112,514 | 737,136 | 844,486 | 674,812 | 25,119 | 6,030 |
| 20–49 apartments | 648,089 | 165,891 | 287,734 | 520,108 | 860,079 | 754,711 | 531,429 | 676,891 | 748,805 | 27,534 | 6,845 |
| 50 or more apartments | 790,289 | 228,678 | 471,467 | 945,738 | 1,343,288 | 1,084,983 | 766,314 | 1,316,246 | 1,918,400 | 78,958 | 15,619 |
| All housing units | 16,926,959 | 6,471,566 | 13,767,538 | 14,213,948 | 20,421,926 | 18,526,658 | 17,438,680 | 19,674,035 | 13,635,449 | 801,964 | 269,118 |
| Boat, RV, van, etc. | 20,626 | 2,470 | 2,164 | 4,532 | 13,958 | 15,681 | 25,199 | 37,168 | 34,843 | 4,605 | 3,186 |
| Mobile home or trailer | 64,401 | 29,545 | 121,460 | 430,818 | 1,457,171 | 1,665,216 | 2,013,506 | 1,310,376 | 801,182 | 57,389 | 22,692 |
| One-family house attached | 1,074,651 | 382,376 | 555,695 | 546,169 | 1,166,758 | 1,513,816 | 1,082,402 | 1,473,237 | 942,319 | 64,726 | 22,544 |
| One-family house detached | 10,491,833 | 4,698,704 | 10,784,166 | 9,533,315 | 11,693,407 | 9,770,598 | 10,578,733 | 12,349,220 | 7,346,961 | 495,095 | 178,932 |
Occupants by Age Band, Sex, and Structure Type
ACS PUMS estimates. Rows preserve the series and age-band values in the supplied dataset.
| 2 apartments · Female | 1,082,422 | 2,625,578 | 1,287,016 |
| 2 apartments · Male | 1,153,605 | 2,534,420 | 1,022,217 |
| 3–4 apartments · Female | 1,312,603 | 3,436,144 | 1,364,107 |
| 3–4 apartments · Male | 1,358,718 | 3,209,099 | 1,023,578 |
| 5–9 apartments · Female | 1,211,153 | 3,481,878 | 1,297,380 |
| 5–9 apartments · Male | 1,279,009 | 3,230,449 | 957,074 |
| 10–19 apartments · Female | 998,736 | 3,227,033 | 1,110,569 |
| 10–19 apartments · Male | 1,044,597 | 3,132,200 | 851,124 |
| 20–49 apartments · Female | 697,087 | 2,426,878 | 1,272,170 |
| 20–49 apartments · Male | 699,024 | 2,428,472 | 910,426 |
| 50 or more apartments · Female | 877,435 | 3,699,296 | 2,555,258 |
| 50 or more apartments · Male | 951,908 | 3,589,556 | 1,678,818 |
| All structure types · all sexes | 73,222,104 | 154,193,585 | 96,717,197 |
| Boat, RV, van, etc. · Female | 21,530 | 58,638 | 51,950 |
| Boat, RV, van, etc. · Male | 25,476 | 64,737 | 79,518 |
| Mobile home or trailer · Female | 1,864,755 | 3,649,898 | 2,682,849 |
| Mobile home or trailer · Male | 1,992,747 | 3,818,264 | 2,462,136 |
| One-family house attached · Female | 2,210,382 | 5,186,277 | 3,258,622 |
| One-family house attached · Male | 2,306,089 | 4,791,607 | 2,359,820 |
| One-family house detached · Female | 25,407,188 | 49,470,897 | 36,706,379 |
| One-family house detached · Male | 26,727,640 | 50,132,264 | 33,786,186 |
Historical Census Workbooks and Graphics
Open the linked workbook titles for the original Census materials and supporting charts.
Condominium & Co-Op Units Sold 2019 - 2023
Absorption means sales. Open the linked workbook for the source data.
Single-Family Homes in HOAs 2009 - 2023
Includes new single-family house sales by region, price, and attached or detached type.
U.S. Census New Home Sales, 2009–2021
A graphic representation of the Census Bureau data in the linked workbook.
U.S. Census Occupied Housing Characteristics
ACS 1-year physical housing characteristics for occupied housing units.
Census Data Tools
Create custom housing tables with the U.S. Census Microdata Access Tool or explore the Census Bureau’s housing resources.
National and state estimates
Community Association Statistics
FCAR Tableau Dashboard 2025 (2024–2025 Edition)
National Totals
373,000
Associations
28,564,658
Homes in Associations
76,081,000
Residents in Associations
$124,126,228,060$124.13 BILLION
Annual Assessments
2,600,200
Board and Committee Volunteers
$31,031,557,015$31.03 BILLION
Reserve Funds
FCAR Over Time
Every point is an FCAR national estimate (1970 to 2025), from the FCAR Statistical Reviews, Fact Books and dashboards. Hover or tab to any point for its exact value and source.
Communities
- FCAR Estimate
- Years Without an Estimate
- 2021 to 2025
Where FCAR published two estimates for a year, the chart plots the national table; the state-by-state total runs 0.04 to 1.04 million lower.
Homes in Associations
- FCAR Estimate
- Years Without an Estimate
- 2021 to 2025
Where FCAR published two estimates for a year, the chart plots the national table; the state-by-state total runs 2.0 to 3.2 million lower.
Residents
- FCAR Estimate
- Years Without an Estimate
- 2021 to 2025
Annual Assessments
- FCAR Estimate
- Years Without an Estimate
Reserve Contributions
- FCAR Estimate
- Years Without an Estimate
FCAR published two 2025 estimates: 2,555,000 in the 2025 review (plotted) and 2,600,200 in the 2024-2025 edition totals.
Board and Committee Members
- FCAR Estimate
- Years Without an Estimate
The 2024 and 2025 reviews price volunteer hours state by state (averages $33.49 and $34.79); the 2019 review used one national rate of $24.59.
FCAR changed its estimation method between editions, so some of the change from one edition to the next reflects method, not growth.
Value of Volunteer Time
- FCAR Estimate
- Years Without an Estimate
Source: FCAR Statistical Review (Foundation for Community Association Research), 2020, 2024 and 2025 editions. Foundation Research · Community Association Fact Book
CIC Statistics by Jurisdiction
FCAR, a nonprofit run by the Community Associations Institute, publishes these as estimates and notes that totals may not add up.
Search or sort the 50 states and the District of Columbia.
| Alabama | 2,800 | 97,193 | −1.23% | 2,016,448 | 4.82% | 5,108,468 | 4.84% | 34.71 | $4,322.84 | 3.44% | 25.00% |
| Alaska | 800 | 24,355 | −0.34% | 274,574 | 8.87% | 733,406 | 9.00% | 30.44 | $4,301.56 | 3.33% | 25.00% |
| Arizona | 10,300 | 873,641 | −1.13% | 2,850,377 | 30.65% | 7,431,344 | 30.63% | 84.82 | $4,374.48 | 3.42% | 25.00% |
| Arkansas | 900 | 26,270 | −0.92% | 1,216,207 | 2.16% | 3,067,732 | 2.15% | 29.19 | $4,336.94 | 3.48% | 25.00% |
| California | 51,700 | 4,912,087 | +0.03% | 13,550,586 | 36.25% | 38,965,193 | 37.18% | 95.01 | $4,364.67 | 3.42% | 25.00% |
| Colorado | 11,800 | 1,007,487 | −1.19% | 2,384,584 | 42.25% | 5,877,610 | 43.69% | 85.38 | $4,345.75 | 3.42% | 25.00% |
| Connecticut | 5,200 | 181,928 | +0.00% | 1,433,635 | 12.69% | 3,617,176 | 13.19% | 34.99 | $4,366.92 | 3.42% | 25.00% |
| Delaware | 1,300 | 40,072 | −0.70% | 402,334 | 9.96% | 1,031,890 | 9.88% | 30.82 | $4,362.79 | 3.43% | 25.00% |
| District of Columbia | 1,400 | 48,653 | −0.20% | 326,970 | 14.88% | 678,972 | 15.61% | 34.75 | $4,333.52 | 3.40% | 25.00% |
| Florida | 50,600 | 4,337,290 | +11.83% | 8,826,394 | 49.14% | 22,610,726 | 48.13% | 85.72 | $4,328.67 | 3.42% | 25.00% |
| Georgia | 11,400 | 858,600 | −0.80% | 4,092,467 | 20.98% | 11,029,227 | 21.09% | 75.32 | $4,346.89 | 3.42% | 25.00% |
| Hawaii | 1,800 | 117,571 | +15.34% | 494,827 | 23.76% | 1,435,138 | 24.18% | 65.32 | $4,343.99 | 3.43% | 25.00% |
| Idaho | 3,000 | 134,179 | +0.32% | 717,151 | 18.71% | 1,964,726 | 18.53% | 44.73 | $4,340.66 | 3.41% | 25.00% |
| Illinois | 19,850 | 1,693,881 | +13.14% | 5,056,360 | 33.50% | 12,549,689 | 35.23% | 85.33 | $4,348.1 | 3.42% | 25.00% |
| Indiana | 5,250 | 342,447 | −0.32% | 2,726,489 | 12.56% | 6,862,199 | 12.82% | 65.23 | $4,349.93 | 3.42% | 25.00% |
| Iowa | 2,600 | 119,257 | −0.56% | 1,330,995 | 8.96% | 3,207,004 | 9.20% | 45.87 | $4,315.52 | 3.42% | 25.00% |
| Kansas | 1,700 | 60,058 | −0.97% | 1,175,294 | 5.11% | 2,940,546 | 5.27% | 35.33 | $4,362.79 | 3.42% | 25.00% |
| Kentucky | 2,400 | 108,441 | −1.00% | 1,828,680 | 5.93% | 4,526,154 | 6.01% | 45.18 | $4,329.32 | 3.42% | 25.00% |
| Louisiana | 2,200 | 64,863 | −0.83% | 1,816,902 | 3.57% | 4,573,749 | 3.63% | 29.48 | $4,340.76 | 3.43% | 25.00% |
| Maine | 1,800 | 54,299 | −0.99% | 605,338 | 8.97% | 1,395,722 | 9.10% | 30.17 | $4,304.98 | 3.39% | 25.00% |
| Maryland | 7,300 | 403,680 | +0.35% | 2,375,984 | 16.99% | 6,180,253 | 17.54% | 55.3 | $4,341.62 | 3.41% | 25.00% |
| Massachusetts | 11,700 | 646,566 | +0.04% | 2,797,776 | 23.11% | 7,001,399 | 24.08% | 55.26 | $4,344.49 | 3.42% | 25.00% |
| Michigan | 8,750 | 570,526 | −0.36% | 4,089,794 | 13.95% | 10,037,261 | 14.40% | 65.2 | $4,351.6 | 3.42% | 25.00% |
| Minnesota | 8,050 | 607,485 | −0.46% | 2,322,190 | 26.16% | 5,737,915 | 27.26% | 75.46 | $4,338.35 | 3.41% | 25.00% |
| Mississippi | 900 | 28,134 | −0.81% | 1,148,340 | 2.45% | 2,939,690 | 2.45% | 31.26 | $4,352.16 | 3.33% | 25.00% |
| Missouri | 5,800 | 379,031 | −0.07% | 2,521,832 | 15.03% | 6,196,156 | 15.46% | 65.35 | $4,341.8 | 3.41% | 25.00% |
| Montana | 2,000 | 61,907 | −0.60% | 464,072 | 13.34% | 1,132,812 | 13.42% | 30.95 | $4,315.34 | 3.42% | 25.00% |
| Nebraska | 1,200 | 41,363 | −0.96% | 803,157 | 5.15% | 1,978,379 | 5.41% | 34.47 | $4,340.07 | 3.46% | 25.00% |
| Nevada | 3,850 | 487,252 | −0.29% | 1,198,356 | 40.66% | 3,194,176 | 41.01% | 126.56 | $4,380.4 | 3.42% | 25.00% |
| New Hampshire | 2,300 | 104,869 | −0.63% | 557,220 | 18.82% | 1,402,054 | 19.26% | 45.6 | $4,355.03 | 3.41% | 25.00% |
| New Jersey | 7,300 | 549,000 | +0.58% | 3,516,978 | 15.61% | 9,290,841 | 16.21% | 75.21 | $4,353.26 | 3.42% | 25.00% |
| New Mexico | 1,500 | 51,402 | +0.17% | 848,218 | 6.06% | 2,114,371 | 6.20% | 34.27 | $4,309.82 | 3.44% | 25.00% |
| New York | 14,600 | 1,322,410 | −5.29% | 7,774,308 | 17.01% | 19,571,216 | 17.86% | 90.58 | $4,337.43 | 3.42% | 25.00% |
| North Carolina | 15,200 | 1,144,465 | −1.26% | 4,299,266 | 26.62% | 10,835,491 | 26.73% | 75.29 | $4,348.16 | 3.42% | 25.00% |
| North Dakota | 700 | 19,988 | −0.99% | 331,481 | 6.03% | 783,926 | 6.38% | 28.55 | $4,356.89 | 3.40% | 25.00% |
| Ohio | 8,850 | 665,875 | −0.15% | 4,878,206 | 13.65% | 11,785,935 | 14.08% | 75.24 | $4,351.26 | 3.42% | 25.00% |
| Oklahoma | 1,800 | 63,399 | −0.98% | 1,573,180 | 4.03% | 4,053,824 | 4.05% | 35.22 | $4,337.72 | 3.41% | 25.00% |
| Oregon | 4,200 | 232,020 | +0.22% | 1,726,340 | 13.44% | 4,233,358 | 13.87% | 55.24 | $4,346 | 3.42% | 25.00% |
| Pennsylvania | 7,200 | 542,112 | +0.00% | 5,294,065 | 10.24% | 12,961,683 | 10.54% | 75.29 | $4,348.18 | 3.42% | 25.00% |
| Rhode Island | 1,200 | 36,271 | −0.61% | 446,688 | 8.12% | 1,095,962 | 8.39% | 30.23 | $4,314.52 | 3.37% | 25.00% |
| South Carolina | 7,600 | 574,819 | −0.96% | 2,136,080 | 26.91% | 5,373,555 | 26.41% | 75.63 | $4,328.59 | 3.42% | 25.00% |
| South Dakota | 600 | 17,384 | −1.05% | 368,300 | 4.72% | 919,318 | 4.79% | 28.97 | $4,331.54 | 3.41% | 25.00% |
| Tennessee | 5,500 | 304,880 | −0.19% | 2,846,684 | 10.71% | 7,126,489 | 10.73% | 55.43 | $4,331.11 | 3.42% | 25.00% |
| Texas | 23,500 | 2,251,913 | +0.35% | 11,087,708 | 20.31% | 30,503,301 | 21.00% | 95.83 | $4,327.56 | 3.42% | 25.00% |
| Utah | 3,800 | 209,891 | −0.05% | 1,129,660 | 18.58% | 3,417,734 | 19.25% | 55.23 | $4,346.66 | 3.42% | 25.00% |
| Vermont | 1,300 | 45,581 | −1.08% | 277,090 | 16.45% | 647,464 | 16.68% | 35.06 | $4,307.15 | 3.43% | 25.00% |
| Virginia | 9,300 | 794,105 | −0.09% | 3,380,607 | 23.49% | 8,715,698 | 23.76% | 85.39 | $4,345.37 | 3.42% | 25.00% |
| Washington | 11,000 | 939,694 | −0.52% | 3,079,953 | 30.51% | 7,812,880 | 31.72% | 85.43 | $4,343.38 | 3.42% | 25.00% |
| West Virginia | 1,000 | 29,895 | −0.49% | 736,341 | 4.06% | 1,770,071 | 4.07% | 29.9 | $4,314.81 | 3.47% | 25.00% |
| Wisconsin | 5,700 | 314,878 | −0.47% | 2,491,121 | 12.64% | 5,910,955 | 13.21% | 55.24 | $4,346.09 | 3.42% | 25.00% |
| Wyoming | 700 | 21,291 | −1.46% | 243,321 | 8.75% | 584,057 | 8.90% | 30.42 | $4,367.03 | 3.46% | 25.00% |
Colorado registrations
Colorado DORA Registration Snapshot
Colorado is home to thousands of condos and HOAs. Search Colorado associations actively registered with DORA. See Colorado complaint figures.
8,615
All Active Registrations
8,048
Professionally Managed (All Registrations)
2,672
Self-Managed (All Registrations)
75%
Share Professionally Managed
Respondent perspectives
Surveys
Explore survey responses, Colorado DORA’s graphics, and the reference studies collected here.
What Do Owners Say?
Colorado DORA DRE survey results.
Colorado DORA HOA Survey: Satisfaction
Self-selected respondents who answered the HOA satisfaction question in the Colorado DORA HOA survey
Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies
Colorado DORA HOA Survey: Which of the Following Challenges Have You Experienced?
Challenge counts are mentions from 1,710 self-selected Participant respondents to the Colorado DORA HOA survey.
Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies
Counts from the survey's coded responses, which differ from the survey tool's summary view.
Challenge counts are from the codified responses of 1,710 Participant respondents, 08/03/23-03/20/24.
Colorado DORA HOA Survey: What Type of Community Do You Live In or Work With Professionally?
Self-selected respondents to the Colorado DORA HOA survey who answered “What Type of Community do you Live In or Work with Professionally?”
Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies
Colorado DORA HOA Survey: How Do You and Your HOA Typically Communicate?
Self-selected respondents to the Colorado DORA HOA survey who answered “How do you and your HOA typically communicate?”
Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies
This was a voluntary, self-selected survey and is not a probability sample.
Responses are respondent reports and do not establish independently verified association practices.
The denominator is specific to this question and may include more than one respondent from an association.
The public source identifies the survey as the 2024 edition; exact fieldwork dates are not stated in the aggregate export.
2024 Board Meetings Survey: Does Your Association Publish a Schedule of Board Meetings?
Self-selected respondents to the Condo Connection 2024 Community Association Board Meetings Survey who answered “Does your association publish a schedule of board meetings?”
Condo Connection
This was a voluntary, self-selected survey and is not a probability sample.
Responses are respondent reports and do not establish independently verified association practices.
The denominator is specific to this question and may include more than one respondent from an association.
The public source identifies the survey as the 2024 edition; exact fieldwork dates are not stated in the aggregate export.
2024 Board Meetings Survey: How Many Board Meetings Does Your Association Typically Conduct Every Year?
Self-selected respondents to the Condo Connection 2024 Community Association Board Meetings Survey who answered “How many board meetings does your association typically conduct every year?”
Condo Connection
This was a voluntary, self-selected survey and is not a probability sample.
Responses are respondent reports and do not establish independently verified association practices.
The denominator is specific to this question and may include more than one respondent from an association.
The public source identifies the survey as the 2024 edition; exact fieldwork dates are not stated in the aggregate export.
2024 Board Meetings Survey: Does Your Association Conduct All Regular and Special Board Meetings As Open Meetings for Owners to Attend?
Self-selected respondents to the Condo Connection 2024 Community Association Board Meetings Survey who answered “Does your association conduct all regular and special board meetings as open meetings for owners to attend?”
Condo Connection
This was a voluntary, self-selected survey and is not a probability sample.
Responses are respondent reports and do not establish independently verified association practices.
The denominator is specific to this question and may include more than one respondent from an association.
The public source identifies the survey as the 2024 edition; exact fieldwork dates are not stated in the aggregate export.
2024 Board Meetings Survey: How Would You Classify the Level to Which Your Board Encourages Homeowner Feedback and Participation?
Self-selected respondents to the Condo Connection 2024 Community Association Board Meetings Survey who answered “How would you classify the level to which your board encourages homeowner feedback and participation?”
Condo Connection
The 26%-or-more group is nested within the at-least-10% group; the two values are overlapping thresholds and must not be stacked or summed.
The question depended on AI being both automatic and reliable; it is not a measured reduction or a promise of fixed email elimination.
The report states 546 completed responses for the client study but does not state how many respondents answered this specific item; no item-level count is inferred.
The respondent base covers community management and customer support roles; the report does not state a geography or probability-sampling design for this client research.
This is a 2026 report result and is not presented as comparable with earlier CINC editions.
CINC Client Research: Expected Reliable AI Email Relief
Respondents to the 2026 CINC client research survey from community management and customer support roles; the report states 546 completed study responses but does not state an item-specific response base
Study sample: 546 · CINC Systems
Board meeting survey responses and state complaint records cover different groups and years.
Chart Data and Notes
The two board survey questions have separate response counts. South Carolina complaints raised 601 meeting issues: 203 regular meetings, 336 notices of board actions, and 62 rights to attend or vote. One complaint can raise several issues. Colorado complaints raised 102 meeting issues: 56 in 2023 and 46 in 2024. The DORA survey count is 487 respondents who checked problems with meetings. The board survey figures come from two questions with separate groups of 136 respondents.
Meeting Measures
| Measure | Period | Count |
|---|---|---|
| Board Meeting Schedule Not Published | 2024 | 55 of 136 |
| Meetings Not Open to Owners | 2024 | 49 of 136 |
| Meeting Issues in South Carolina Complaints | 2018–2025 | 601 |
| Meeting Issues in Colorado Complaints | 2023–2024 | 102 |
| Respondents with Meeting Concerns | 2023–2024 | 487 |
Colorado Concerns and Complaints
The Colorado DORA DRE survey ran from 08/03/23 to 03/20/24. Each row pairs a survey concern with the matching complaint category, in parentheses. Complaints were submitted in 2023 and 2024.
Concern and Complaint Topic Shares
Blue: percent of 1,502 survey respondents who checked each concern. Green: percent of 2,032 complaint issues in each category.
Chart Data and Notes
Survey counts are respondents who checked each concern. Colorado complaints raised 2,032 issues across the published categories in 2023 and 2024. One complaint can raise several issues. Some survey concerns have no direct complaint category, including Other. Bars use a 0–60% scale.
Comparison Bases
| Measure | Period | Count |
|---|---|---|
| Respondents with a Concern | 2023–2024 | 1,502 people |
| Issues Raised in Complaints | 2023–2024 | 2,032 complaint issues |
Assorted Surveys
These references are not sponsored by CAI and/or FCAR. CAI (the Community Associations Institute, a business trade group) created FCAR (the Foundation for Community Association Research) in 1975. The organizations are headquartered in the same building on the same floor. As with other industry-sponsored surveys, consider the possibility of industry sponsorship bias.
Sources and Methods
Each dataset keeps its stated population, period, unit, and limitations. Dataset titles link to their source materials; displayed dates use MM/DD/YY.
Colorado DORA source materials: Colorado Division of Real Estate HOA Center; HOA Task Force Final Report; DORA Annual Reports on the Condo Connection Drive.
Original Census materials: New Single-Family Houses Sold: Annual Data; ACS Occupied Housing Characteristics (2022).
| 2024 Board Meetings Survey: Does Your Association Conduct All Regular and Special Board Meetings As Open Meetings for Owners to Attend? | 2024 | Self-selected respondents to the Condo Connection 2024 Community Association Board Meetings Survey who answered “Does your association conduct all regular and special board meetings as open meetings for owners to attend?” | 09/06/26 |
| 2024 Board Meetings Survey: Does Your Association Publish a Schedule of Board Meetings? | 2024 | Self-selected respondents to the Condo Connection 2024 Community Association Board Meetings Survey who answered “Does your association publish a schedule of board meetings?” | 09/06/26 |
| 2024 Board Meetings Survey: How Many Board Meetings Does Your Association Typically Conduct Every Year? | 2024 | Self-selected respondents to the Condo Connection 2024 Community Association Board Meetings Survey who answered “How many board meetings does your association typically conduct every year?” | 09/06/26 |
| 2024 Board Meetings Survey: How Would You Classify the Level to Which Your Board Encourages Homeowner Feedback and Participation? | 2024 | Self-selected respondents to the Condo Connection 2024 Community Association Board Meetings Survey who answered “How would you classify the level to which your board encourages homeowner feedback and participation?” | 09/06/26 |
| CINC Client Research: Expected Reliable AI Email Relief | 2026 | Respondents to the 2026 CINC client research survey from community management and customer support roles; the report states 546 completed study responses but does not state an item-specific response base | 09/05/26 |
| Colorado Active CIC Management Arrangement Shares by Community Type | 2024 | Active common interest community registrations reported by the Colorado Division of Real Estate | 03/10/25 |
| Colorado Active CIC Registrations by Management Arrangement | 2025 | Active common interest community registrations reported by the Colorado Division of Real Estate | 09/25/26 |
| Colorado DORA HOA Survey: How Do You and Your HOA Typically Communicate? | 08/03/23 – 04/01/24 | Self-selected respondents to the Colorado DORA HOA survey who answered “How do you and your HOA typically communicate?” | 09/06/26 |
| Colorado DORA HOA Survey: Satisfaction | 08/03/23 – 04/01/24 | Self-selected respondents who answered the HOA satisfaction question in the Colorado DORA HOA survey | 09/06/26 |
| Colorado DORA HOA Survey: What Type of Community Do You Live In or Work With Professionally? | 08/03/23 – 04/01/24 | Self-selected respondents to the Colorado DORA HOA survey who answered “What Type of Community do you Live In or Work with Professionally?” | 09/06/26 |
| Colorado DORA HOA Survey: Which of the Following Challenges Have You Experienced? | 08/03/23 – 04/01/24 | Challenge counts are mentions from 1,710 self-selected Participant respondents to the Colorado DORA HOA survey. | 09/06/26 |
| FCAR All Occupied Homes | 2024–2025 | Community associations in 50 states and District of Columbia | Not stated |
| FCAR Annual Assessments | 2024–2025 | Community associations in 50 states and District of Columbia | Not stated |
| FCAR Assessment Per Home | 2024–2025 | Community associations in 50 states and District of Columbia | Not stated |
| FCAR Associations | 2024–2025 | Community associations in 50 states and District of Columbia | Not stated |
| FCAR Board And Committee Volunteers | 2024–2025 | Community associations in 50 states and District of Columbia | Not stated |
| FCAR Homes In Associations | 2024–2025 | Community associations in 50 states and District of Columbia | Not stated |
| FCAR Homes Per Association | 2024–2025 | Community associations in 50 states and District of Columbia | Not stated |
| FCAR Reserve Funds | 2024–2025 | Community associations in 50 states and District of Columbia | Not stated |
| FCAR Reserve Funds As A Share Of Assessments | 2024–2025 | Community associations in 50 states and District of Columbia | Not stated |
| FCAR Residents In Associations | 2024–2025 | Community associations in 50 states and District of Columbia | Not stated |
| FCAR Share Of Homes In Associations | 2024–2025 | Community associations in 50 states and District of Columbia | Not stated |
| FCAR Share Of Residents In Associations | 2024–2025 | Community associations in 50 states and District of Columbia | Not stated |
| FCAR Total Jurisdiction Population | 2024–2025 | Community associations in 50 states and District of Columbia | Not stated |
| FCAR Volunteers As A Share Of Residents | 2024–2025 | Community associations in 50 states and District of Columbia | Not stated |
| Housing Units by Structure Type and Year Built | 2021 | Housing units in the United States | 09/22/22 |
| Median Monthly HOA or Condominium Fee by Mortgage Status | 2024 | Owner-occupied housing units with a required homeowners’ association and/or condominium fee paid | 09/06/26 |
| New Single-Family Houses Completed by HOA Membership | 2025 | New single-family houses completed | 09/06/26 |
| New Single-Family Houses Sold by HOA Membership | 2025 | New single-family houses sold | 09/06/26 |
| Occupants by Age Band, Sex, and Structure Type | 2021 | People in occupied housing units in the United States | 09/22/22 |
| Occupied Housing Units by Units in Structure | 2024 | Occupied housing units | 09/06/26 |
| Owner-Occupied Housing Units by Required HOA or Condominium Fee Status | 2024 | Owner-occupied housing units | 09/06/26 |
| Share of New Single-Family Houses Sold by HOA Membership | 2025 | New single-family houses sold | 09/06/26 |
| U.S. Housing Starts | 2000–2025 | New privately-owned housing units started; yearly average of monthly seasonally adjusted annual rates | 09/25/26 |
34 dataset records are included in the source index.








